“I am not sure …

“I am not sure how so many Americans came to believe only our wealthy are capable of honoring a food aesthetic. Anyone who thinks so should have a gander at the kitchens of working-class immigrants from India, Mexico, anywhere really. Cooking at home is cheaper than buying packaged foods or restaurant meals of comparable quality. Cooking good food is mostly a matter of having the palate and the skill.”

This quote is by Barbara Kingsolver from her book, Animal, Vegetable, Miracle.

My brother loaned me this book and I am ever so grateful.  Now that I am on break, I needed something to fill my extra time and I am really enjoying this book.  It is a true story of a family who purchases only locally grown food, or grows it themselves.  Whether its, chicken, asparagus, or apples, it is always in season and straight from their garden or a local farm.

I thought this quote really applied to my blog because it is the exact message I am trying to get across, which is that you don’t have to be rich to cook good, healthy meals.  Taking your time in the grocery store or farmer’s market will help you to find good meals, at great prices.  The family in Animal, Vegetable, Miracle really emphasizes the importance of meal planning as well.  Although we can’t all grow our own produce or raise our own chickens, we can be aware while we shop of healthy options at lower cost.  I find this book very inspiring and really admire the family for what they did.  I hope this quote gives you some encouragement to cook a wonderful meal for your family or friends!

Leave a comment